Avatar (Recommendation)

Ok, so this was inevitable, reviewing James Cameron’s “Avatar” seems to be everything today’s film critics are doing, so I thought I’d give my two cents in on the film, and I will try, although ultimately fail at, keeping things very brief.

Watch it.

Watch it for many different reasons. Watch it for the action and romance. Watch it for Pandora. Watch it for the technological adventure it takes you on. Watch it again and again because there are so many details that you can appreciate, and one sitting will not do justice. But what you should really watch it for is the shear brilliance of the film, as it combines everything to work together to make a spectacularly entertaining movie.

Don’t go in thinking you will find an original story, because as many people have said before, it does take huge chunks of its story-line from many other movies, significantly, “Dances With Wolves” and I thought also “Pocahontas”. Also, at times it can become cheesy, and in terms of writing, it isn’t the greatest.

But what it did do, I don’t know if you’ve seen these two movies, is make the plot as magical and wonderous as you can possibly imagine. It also offers includes a largely philosophical take on intellect, imagination, and the symbiosis between humans and nature. Its a lot to reflect upon, and the simplicity through which it presents the material is something to commend and applaud.

The creative spirit inside me blushed when I saw the vibrant forest in Pandora, the planet James Cameron created. The detail paid to each second of footage was ridiculous. When I sat there, as t film began, honestly, from the very first scene, I whispered to myself, and made a mental note to remember what I said, “Wow!”, and I said this probably 10 times throughout the 2hour 40 minute epic.

Epic is what it was. I think this is going to be the “Star Wars” of our generation. Sci-fi fanboys will eat it up, and people will remember this movie in many years as the beginning of something new, for its advances in 3D technology, and for the bar it sets for science fiction into the future.

I saw the movie with my friends, but am actually currently planning on seeing it again in the theaters, probably more than once more, something I rarely do, but I think this one truely deserves it. Watching it once is not enough. I remember half-way through the movie, saying to myself, I don’t want this to end, I could have sat there all day to see more of Pandora. At the end of the film, the audience I watched it with gave the film a round of applause, and I thought that was fitting for a film of this caliber.

I don’t know if there will be a sequel, but for now, this is enough. More than enough. More than I ever anticipated or imagined. I think from all the movies I’ve seen, in its genre, its by far the best, and I look forward to comparing it to others as the bench-mark for a long time. I will offer my full review after watching it again, this one is just to get you to watch it. Let me know what you think, because I know there are people who disagree with me.

With that said, Happy Holidays, and have a great new year.

Leave a Reply

